Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Parks Advisory Board Committee

Parks Advisory Board meetings are held the second Wednesday of each month at 6:00 pm at the Avery building – 360 SW Avery Ave., Corvallis, OR. 97333. If you would like to attend a meeting, please contact Benton County staff admin Leanna Buck at Leanna.Buck@BentonCountyOr.Gov or call her at (541) 766-6521 to request the meeting password. 

Function Of the Parks Advisory Board

The Parks Advisory Board shall assist the Benton County Board of Commissioners, and shall have the following powers and duties:

  • Render advice and recommendations to the Board of Commissioners on all matters submitted by the commissioners to the Parks Advisory Board for its consideration.
  • Initiate advice to the Board of Commissioners based on the observations of park operations, public concerns as expressed to the Parks Advisory Board, concerns of individual Advisory Board members, and Natural Areas and Parks Department staff input.
  • Provide leadership and promote cooperation between public and private organizations in the provision of adequate recreational opportunities for the people of Benton County.
  • Safeguard and represent the public interest in park issues and encourage citizen participation in and support of park programs.


The Parks Advisory Board shall consist of nine members, appointed by the Board of Commissioners. Terms shall be four years. Any member may serve two successive terms if reappointed by the Board of Commissioners. Terms begin on July 1 and end on June 30. Terms shall be staggered, with three members’ terms expiring each year.

Current Board Members

  • David Smith, Chairman
  • Elizabeth Spatafora
  • Kevin Chambers
  • Phil Hays
  • Bryce Downey
  • John Turner
  • Miles Phillips
  • Ben Watts
  • Carol Walsh
  • Duncan Rothe, Student Advisory
  • Jesse Ott, Parks Deputy Director
  • Leanna Buck, Parks Recorder
Back to top